

AUSTRALIAN GREYHOUND RAGING ASSOCIATION

MEDIA RELEASE

16th December 2011



"Another Group One for Dyna Tron"

MELBOURNE Cup winner Dyna Tron (\$2.50) scored his second Group 1 win and third Group victory in the space of a six weeks when he ran down star Tasmanian chaser Rewind (\$3.10) to take out the \$107,000 Aceland Hobart Thousand final over 461 metres at Tattersall's Park in Hobart last Thursday night.

In a most exciting final, the Dailly team trained speedster gave away a start and overcame a severe check to run down Morrie Strickland's kennel star in the shadows of the post to score by a nose with the winner's litter brother and kennel mate Dyna Bert (\$12.00) almost seven lengths back in third place.

What a roller coaster ride it has been for the Dailly's and owners the Wheeler family. Dyna Tron prior to winning the Geelong Cup on November 4 had won 18 races for a total prizemoney earn of \$67,000 after last night's \$75,000 first prize his tally has skyrocketed to \$416,348, placing him 14th on the list of the highest stake earners of all time.



Dyna Tron puts his head out on the line to beat Rewind in the Hobart 1000

AUSTRALIAN BREYHDUND BABINB ASSUBIATION

Besides the Group 2 Geelong Cup Dyna Tron was an impressive winner of the Group 1 Melbourne Cup and a game runner up in the Group 1 Brisbane Cup leading most of the way before being run down in the final 10 metres by Glen Gallon.

While plenty of accolades were poured on the winner, there was a lot to like about the effort of the runner-up Rewind and spare a thought for his veteran trainer Morrie Strickland who was hoping for his first Group success in 56 years in the game.

It gave Dyna Tron's win all the more merit as Rewind is an extremely hard dog to run down when in front and on the lure, especially on his favourite track at Hobart where he has won seven times with three seconds from ten starts.

Rewind began brilliantly from box seven to cross to the rail while Dyna Tron hunted up along the rail from box two to challenge at the top turn with Bergermeister (1) poised to strike behind the eventual winner.

Dyna Tron checked off Rewind's heels on the home turn that cost him a couple of lengths.

But such is the tenacity of Dyna Tron that he set sail after Rewind and grabbed victory in the very last stride in a head-bobbing finish.

Time for the final was an impressive 25.85, with sections of 5.01 and 10.99 recorded by Rewind.

The Dailly team indicated after the final that Dyna Tron would be freshened up with a couple of weeks off and they would then look forward to the rich Group races on offer around Australia in the New Year.



The placed runners in the Hobart 1000 after the presentation (Pics Peter Hayes)

AUSTRALIAN GREYHDUNU RAGING ASSUGIATION

After the placed runners the field finished in the following order 4th David Bale (\$12.00), 5th Bergermeister (\$4.40), 6th Clyde's Angel (\$20.00) 7th Sandbanker (\$62.00) and Galtee Again (\$54.00).

Dyna Tron is a Red Brindle dog whelped February 2009 by Collision from Gold Rush Bale (Lansley Bale x Jindara Bale). He is raced by Brendan Wheeler and trained by Andrea Dailly from Anakie in Victoria. Dyna Tron has raced 46 times for 24 wins and 10 placings with his win in the Hobart 1000 the \$75,000 first prize took his current stake earnings to \$416,348.

The Hobart 1000 is the oldest feature race final in Australia it was first run as the Hobart Cup at the old TCA circuit in 1935. The race first became known as the Hobart 1000 in 1939, it reverted back to the Hobart Cup for two years in 1942 then was not held during the war years of 1944-45 and when the race recommended in 1946 it was again known as the Hobart 1000.

The most notable effort in the history of the Hobart Thousand must be the training feat of Hilda Williamson of Beaconsfield. She won back-to-back Thousands in 1961/62 with her grand bitch Ophir Doll, and just for good measure made it a hat trick with Ophir Gold in 1963. Another notable feat was that of Beaut Dina. She won the event run in 1976 and was the dam of Scene Control, which won the last ever Hobart Thousand run at the T.C.A. in 1980. Both were owned and trained by Ted and Laurie Rigby of Evandale.

Arguments will always rage over the greatest dogs to win the Thousand. The best interstate chasers to gain victory would have to be Rookie Rebel (1958), Benjamin John (1969), (which ran down the immortal Zoom Top), Black Aztec (1981), and the freak Brother Fox (1985). Amongst the very best of the locals to salute would have to be Ophir Doll (1961/62), along with Royal Griffin (1978), True Vintage (1988), Bomber's a Flyer (1996), Top Shiraz (2000) (who held off the speedster Brett Lee) and Black Caleb (2002) who defeated Melbourne Cup winner Classic Capri. Race record over the 457m trip - 2005 winner Ralph The Mouth 25.60.

Listed below are the names of many champions that have tasted victory in the time honored event. It is certainly an impressive list of past winners.

1935 Elwick Boy, 1936 Miafort, 1937 Loch Maree, 1938 On Par, 1939 Mr Whackles, 1940 Silver Rover, 1941 Cavalry, 1942 My Kenya, 1943 Askalon, 1944 "Not Held", 1945 "Not Held", 1946 Ebon's Own, 1947 Young Sign, 1948 Hero Minda, 1949 Erin's Ace, 1950 Neat Brandy, 1951 Pleasant Foam, 1952 Baron Dhu, 1953 The Mudlark, 1954 Pasha Chief, 1955 Minda Go, 1956 Baron Woomera, 1957 Rising Ace, 1958 Rookie Rebel, 1959 Peter's Treasure, 1960 Bow Rock, 1961 Ophir Doll, 1962 Ophir Doll, 1963 Ophir Gold, 1964 Sandy Stone, 1965 Fairbairn Lady, 1966 Ipswich Low, 1967 Fiery Bob, 1968 Sue Narila, 1969 Benjamin John, 1970 Plunder Road, 1971Trion Scout, 1972 Beau Palomino, 1973 Sue's A Credit, 1974 Jamin John, 1975 Snowsim, 1976 Beaut Dina, 1977 Check Vista, 1978 Royal Griffin, 1979 Astradome Lad, 1980 Scene Control, 1981 Black Aztec, 1982 Kudaleen, 1983 Stony Point, 1984 Double Time, 1985 Brother Fox, 1986 Solitary Simon, 1987 White Gigolo, 1988 True Vintage, 1989 Scott James, 1990 Bacchant, 1990 Shantytown, 1991 Jenny's Legacy, 1992 Bomber Gleeson, 1993 Extra's Boy, 1994 Storm Hero, 1995 Clint's Pirate, 1996 Bomber's A Flyer, 1997 Shantung Tiger, 1998 Mirren Bale, 1999 Latest Lad, 2000 Top Shiraz, 2001 Black Caleb, 2002 Star Witch, 2003 Nobody Knew, 2004 Regent Thunder, 2005 Ralph The Mouth, 2006 Superman, 2007 Train A Journey, 2008 Little Spaniard, 2009 Prankster and 2010 Octane Show.



For more information please contact:

Neil Brown AGRA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234 Mob: 0423 129 950

nbrown@agra.com

Howard Ashton AGRA Executive Officer Tel: 08 8243 7100 Mob: 0438 042 838 hashton@agra.com