

AUSTRALIAN GREYHOUND RAGING ASSOCIATION

MEDIA RELEASE 16th May 2010

SPORT 927AM Second Coming

Next Top Model wins a thrilling Sandown Cup final

Next Top Model scored a thrilling last-gasp victory in a memorable Radio Sport 927 Sandown Cup at Sandown Park tonight.



Next Top Model wins in an epic finish of the Sandown Cup (All Pics Paul Munt)

Trained by leading Pearcedale mentor Jason Thompson, Next Top Model (\$8.10) began well to lead Darren McDonald's Reign Over Me (\$7.50) into the home straight the first time. Reign Over Me soon switched to the rails to take the lead as the pair broke away from the chasing pack.

AUSTRALIAN BREYHDUND RABINB ASSOBIATION

In an epic finish to Australia's richest race for stayers, Next Top Model and Reign Over Me raced neck and neck down the home straight, with Next Top Model getting the dive in on the line to defeat Reign Over Me by a head.

"When she was out in front I thought she's going to be in it but when Reign Over Me got up on the inside of her I thought she may run a place," said emotional handler Seona Hood.

It was just reward for the connections of Next Top Model. The rising three year old was contesting her 11th Group race final having been placed in six of them leading into tonight's race.

"She's gone around in plenty of Group finals and just hasn't had the luck or the right run in races.

"I thought she was going to run a nice placing again tonight but she put her head down at the right time and did everything right."

Next Top Model is the second Sandown Cup winner for the Thompson kennel, having previously scored with Proven Lethal in 2004.

The win took Next Top Model's career record to 19 wins from 41 starts and the \$100,000 winner's cheque took her prizemoney beyond \$200,000. It also highlighted her liking for the Lightwood Road circuit, having now won six of her 12 starts at the venue. Included in her Sandown Park record are second placings in the Group 2 Bold Trease Carnival Cup and Group 2 Maidment Memorial, as well as a fifth placing in the 2009 Sandown Cup final at just her 10th race start.

"She's done very well here," said Hood.

Next Top Model's winning time of 41.96 set a new time standard for the race, eclipsing Mantra Lad's 2009 race record of 42.00.

McDonald also prepared third placegetter Countess Of Cork (\$8.90) who flashed home after finding early trouble, while favourite Jarvis Bale (\$3.50) was never in contention. South Australian Satanic Cash (\$4.20) made an uncharacteristic fast start from box 6 but was soon outpaced and struck interference approaching the straight for the first time.

On a big night for the Thompson kennel, three-time Group 1 winner Fedex added the \$14,500 Dave Hodgson special event to his impressive resume, defeating Birthday Boy (\$8.70) by 1.5 lengths in a slick 29.46.

After the placings the field finished in the following order 4th Allen Zander (\$8.40), 5th Symmetry (\$8.50), 6th Jarvis Bale (\$3.50fav) 7th Satanic Cash (\$4.20) and Best Of Times (\$19.20).

Next Top Model is raced by the John McGeary she is a Brindle Bitch whelped July 2007 by Surf Lorian from By Request (Lindale Blue x Roshana Reason). Next Top Model has won 19 of her 41 starts and has been placed on 13 occasions and with the \$100,000 first prize for the Sandown Cup it took her current stake earnings to \$206,390.



Next Top Model with Seona Hood and Seona and Jason's son Ben after the Sandown Cup

Listed below is the honour roll for the Sandown Cup the race has been won by many of the champion stayers of the past including AGRA Hall Of Famers Lizrene and Bold Trease. Plus the great stayers of their particular era Fawn Scout, Paul's Thunder, Corcoran, Raurimu, Boronia Blossom, Tonight's Wish, Osti's Joker, Bentley Babe, Arvo's Junior, Best Quoted and Sargent Major.

1957 Orialta, 1959 Woodford Chief, 1961 Plunkett's Present, 1963 Briar View, 1964 Haleka Jewel, 1965 Venetian Court 1966 Fawn Scout 1967 Charlie Lee 1968 Sprite of Egypt 1969 Local Blend, 1970 Paul's Thunder, 1971 Paul's Thunder, 1972 Lizrene, 1973 Lizrene, 1974 Corcoran 1975 Tammy Shanta, 1976 Brindle Norma, 1977 Rani's Copy, 1978 Kawati Boy, 1979 Miss Tema, 1980 Wynlee Wonder, 1981 Bianca Lee, 1982 Status Supreme, 1983 Lead Role, 1984 Raurimu, 1985 Tashla, 1986 Bold Trease, 1987 Bold Trease, 1988 Bold Trease, 1989 Bold Trease, 1990 Western Creole, 1991 Pixie Eyes, 1992 Village Stomper, 1993 Eliza Dylan, 1994 Top Sovereign, 1995 Keon Star, 1996 Boronia Blossom, 1997 Tonight's Wish, 1998 Red Mystique, 1999 Smart Attitude, 2000 Osti's Joker, 2001 Bentley Babe, 2002 Jennev, 2003 Arvo's Junior, 2004 Proven Lethal, 2005 Best Quoted, 2006 Sargent Major, 2007 "No Race" 2008 Chinatown Lad and 2009 Mantra Lad.

Thanks for information supplied by Michael Floyd Sandown Administration.

For more information please contact:

Neil Brown AGRA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234

Mob: 0423 129 950

Brenton Scott
AGRA Executive Officer

Tel: 02 96497166 Mob: 0438 402 198