



AUSTRALIAN GREYHOUND RAGING ASSOCIATION

MEDIA RELEASE 15th June 2010



"Tuiaki's Mosman Classic"

Expectation was that one of the three dogs stationed nearest the rails in Saturday's Group Two Peter Mosman Classic would snare the \$25,000 winner's prize - and that's just how the result entered the record books.

Dave Irwin's That's Just Me was sent out the popular elect following his slashing 29.90s semi final win seven days earlier while Ken Cheetham's New Divide, on the score of his 30.08s effort on the same night, was considered a live threat and then came Tujaki.

The son of Irish star Premier Fantasy was considered unlikely to match the aforementioned pair in the early stages and started a \$7.50 chance but it was he which reigned supreme in 30.23s.

A slow start proved critical to the chances of That's Just Me. He was tightened for room in the run to the first turn and checked, losing all chance. And, in the blink of an eye, those who had gambled on New Divide were dealt a similar blow. Checked and back to fifth at the first turn was New Divide.

Racing through the catching pen, Cool Scooby (\$12.50) had wrested the lead held a break over Super Laurie (\$10.40) to the back straight but Tuiaki was lurking.

He loomed large with 200m to run and looked all over a winner before the home turn. After drawing to the lead in the latter stages, he raced clear to salute by 2 3/4 lengths from a gallant Cool Scooby.

Super Laurie (\$10.40) battled away to finish third ahead of Hitman Sandow.

The win represents a career highlight for trainer Neville Brown and just reward for a dog which has always shown the potential to win at the elite level.

Tuiaki made his debut in the prestigious Dapto Maiden in September and now boasts 12 wins from just 30 starts - earning just on \$56,000 in stakes.

Continued on Page 2 ...

AUSTRALIAN BREYHUUNU RABINB ASSUBIATION

First run in 1952 as the Bi Annual Classic, the series was re-named in honour of former GBOTA Chairman Peter Mosman in 1988.

After the placings the field finished in the following order 4th Hitman Sandow (\$30.10), 5th New Divide (\$3.50), 6th That's Just Me (\$2.20) 7th Flying Airlie (\$18.80) and Tiger Sing Man (\$18.30).

Tuiaki is a Black dog whelped March '08 by Premier Fantasy from Shireen's Habit (Trendy Leigh x Crazy Habit). He raced and trained by Neville Brown and the Group 2 Mosman Memorial was Tuiaki 14th win with nine placings from 33 starts. The \$25,000 first prize took his stake earnings to \$56,050.

The Classic was first run at Harold Park in 1952 when won by Robin Buchanan. In those days the race was called the Bi-Annual Classic and remained the same until 1988 when the GBOTA renamed the Classic honouring legendary administrator the late Peter Mosman. Like all other GBOTA features it moved with the club to Wentworth Park in 1987. Some outstanding sprinters have won the race over its journey going back to Miss Oakey (53), Tell You Why (59), Classy Jane (the dam of Black Top 60), Rokoko (68), The Smoother (70), Satan's Legend (78), Tegimi (79), Promises Free (82), Brother Fox (85), Farmer Wilson (91), How's The Fort (92), Worthy Reward (93), Tap Dance (94), Solve The Puzzle (98), Great Wish (99), Winsome Dollars (2001), Elite State (2003), Surf Lorian (2004) and last year's winner Devine Road. Listed below is the honour roll in full.

1952 Robin Buchanan, 1953 Miss Oakey, 1954 Farrago Hawk, 1955 Proto Girl, 1956 Double Jade, 1957 Fine Earl, 1958 Town Ghost, 1959 Tell You Why, 1960 Classy Jane, 1961 Silver Khan, 1962 Nimble Aye, 1963 Keen Linen, 1964 Sudden Linen, 1965 Satyr Rocket,1966 Perfect Socks, 1967 Dark Durante, 1968 Rokoko, 1969 Silent Ring, 1970 The Smoother, 1971 Alray Lad, 1972 Toouli, 1973 Dusty Trail, 1974 Early Copy, 1975 Arctic Raider, 1976 Proper Calibre, 1977 Ripa's Regard, 1978 Satan's Legend, 1979 Tegimi, 1980 Dick's Gem, 1981 Merry Tempest, 1982 Promises Free, 1983 Acacia Park, 1984 Crathie Drive, 1985 Brother Fox, 1986 Yob Yobbo, 1987 Paris In Spring, 1988 Kinjarra, 1989 Style Leader, 1990 Classy Spider, 1991 Farmer Wilson, 1992 How's The Fort, 1993 Worthy Reward, 1994 Tap Dance1995 Patchtime, 1996 Casino Jack, 1997 William Wallace, 1998 Solve The Puzzle, 1999 Great Wish, 2000 Token Wave, 2001 Winsome Dollars, 2002 Big Sam Banner, 2003 Elite State, 2004 Surf Lorian, 2005 Over Flo, 2006 Faithful Love, 2007 Run The Risk, 2008 Lend Us Fifty and 2009 Devine Road.

Thanks for story content in the above release Peter Davis GRNSW Website

For more information please contact:

Neil Brown AGRA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234

Mob: 0423 129 950

Brenton Scott AGRA Executive Officer Tel: 02 96497166

Mob: 0438 402 198