MEDIA RELEASE 2nd August 2010





Senor too Classy in Group 1 Maturity Classic

The flying El Grand Senor (\$2.00) showed why he is rated as one of the country's finest young chasers after a brilliant all-the-way victory in the Group 1 Hudson Pacific Maturity Classic at The Meadows over 525 metres last Saturday night.



.

A

-

El Grand Senor wins the Maturity in dominate fashion (All Pics Paul Munt)

The son of Where's Pedro and Elgrando Gold used his favourable box draw to perfection, flying out to an early lead off box one, running a sizzling 5.01 to the first section. Despite pressure from rival Arsonist (\$5.20) down the back straight, El Grand Senor highlighted his superior ability, stopping the clock at 17.53 before cruising to a 29.99 victory – two and three quarter lengths clear of Arsonist.

Mid Levels (\$19.90) trained by Peter Giles – finished three lengths further afield.

The victory was El Grand Senor's first success at Group level, improving his record to 15 wins and three seconds from just 20 starts, winning \$98,955 in the process. The Carolyne Jones-trained star will now be set for the Victorian State Sprint series, which starts next week.



A "kiss" for the champ, Carolyne Jones with El Grand Senor after the Presentation

After the placed runners the field finished in the following order 4th Red Lesta (\$9.10), 5th Cosmic Planet (\$10.10), 6th Carcoar Kurt (\$23.00) 7th Le Fox (\$19.30) and Iceman Raikkonen (\$7.50).

El Grand Senor is a Black dog whelped April 2008 by Where's Pedro from Elgrando Gold (Elgrando x Sweet Liberty). He raced trained and was bred by Carolyne Jones at Sale in Victoria. He has now won 15 races and been placed on three occasions from his 20 starts. The Maturity Classic first prize of \$50,000 brings El Grand Senor's overall prizemoney to \$98,995.

The Maturity Classic was first held at Olympic Park in 1970 when won by talented sprinter Phantom's Heir first prize at that time was \$1250. The prizemoney increased marginally until 1975 when it went to \$3,500. In 77 it was \$5,600 and jumped to \$7000 in 79 before going to \$10,000 from 1980 until 1987 the year the mighty New Tears won the race. First prize went to \$15,000 for seven years then to \$20,000 for two years and reached \$30,000 in the year 2000. In 2001 it was worth \$40,000 and the Classic was won by AGRA Hall Of Famer Brett Lee. It was elevated the next year to the current amount of \$50,000. Listed below is the Maturity Classic Honour roll highlighted by some of the many stars that enjoyed outstanding careers after winning the feature.

1970 Phantom's Heir, 1971 Linden Lad, 1972 Nulla's Call, 1973 Shan's Tempest, 1974 Temlee, 1975 Warranwood Girl, 1976 Aaron King, 1977 Overflow Love, 1978 Satan's Legend, 1979 Marajax, 1980 Worthy Weston, 1981 Murchison Champ, 1982 Rocky Pyramid, 1982 Wynlee Spirit, 1983 "Not Held" 1984 Broken Cup, 1985 Storm Glade, 1986 Pharaoh's Mask, 1987 New Tears, 1988 Hay Dinney, 1989 Best Of Blue, 1990 Eureka Man, 1991 Enfield, 1992 Executive Class, 1993 Keystone, 1994 Refur, 1995 Northern Legend, 1996 Royal Honcho, 1997 Running Gold, 1998 Adrenalin Storm, 1999 Coriole, 2000 Acacia Dee, 2001 Brett Lee, 2002 Rocka Cockatoo, 2003 Hall's Northern, 2004 Hallucinate, 2005 Poetic Magic 2006 Train A Journey, 2007 Run's House, 2008 Paddy's Flame and 2009 Aston Trivett.





BLUE LORIAN PROVED TOO GOOD IN AWM DISTANCE TITLE

New South Wales chaser Blue Lorian (\$6.60) proved too good in AWM Distance Championship. The classy Blue Lorian continued his outstanding form in a fabulous staying effort to take out the Group 2 AWM Distance Championship over 725 metres last Saturday night at The Meadows.



Blue Lorian an easy winner of the AWM Distance Title (Photo Paul Munt)

The son of Surf Lorian and Winsome Bluebird made it seven wins on the trot – and two from two at The Meadows – defeating Reign Over Me (\$8.40) by two and quarter lengths in 42.86. Dour stayer Jarvis Bale (\$8.90) was a further three quarters of a length away to finish third in his 23rd Group race appearance.

Owned and trained by Peter Whye, Blue Lorian is now a two-time Group winner, taking out the Group 3 Stayers Challenge at Cannington in February. Blue Lorian's success on Saturday improved his record to 21 wins from 42 starts and \$132,915 in prizemoney. Favourite Nellie Noodles (\$2.20) failed to display her customary finishing burst, passing the post in seventh position, 11 and a quarter lengths away from the winner.

Blue Lorian heads back home to New South Wales after racing in Queensland and WA in recent months, he'll line up in one of two heats of the National Distance Championship at Wentworth Park this Saturday night.

The action continues next Saturday night at The Meadows with the running of the Victorian State heats of the National Distance Championship.

Continued on Page 4 ...

After the placed runners the field finished in the following order 4th Dohtmann (\$54.00), 5th Mickie Keato (\$25.90), 6th Satanic Cash (\$3.90) 7th Nellie Noodles (\$2.20fav) and Galactic Diamond (\$27.50).

Blue Lorian is a Blue dog whelped December 2007 by Surf Lorian from Winsome Bluebird (Lansley Bale x Winsome Duchess). He raced and trained by Peter Whye at Narellan in New South Wales. He has now won 21 races and been placed on 15 occasions from his 42 starts. The AWM Distance Title first prize of \$25,000 brings his overall prizemoney to \$132,195.

Elevated to Group 2 status in 2007 the AWM Distance Championship has had plenty of different names. First run in 1967 when won by Magic Zephyr the race was staged over the 800 yard at Olympic Park and was known as the Olympic Park Distance Championship. In those early years the raced was won by some outstanding stayers including AGRA Hall of famers Zoom Top (1969) Lizrene (1972). It remained the Olympic Park Distance Champion ship until 1988 apart from 1978 when called the Victorian Distance Title and in 1986 it was called the Toyota Trophy and 1987 Toyota Cup. In 1989 the race was called the Olympic Park Distance Title before becoming the Diamond Distance Title from 1990 to 1993 and the ANZ Distance Title 1994-95. The race first became the AWM Distance Title in 1996 when the M.G.R.A. was racing at Sandown and the company has continued the race sponsorship through to the Meadows. Listed below are the previous winners.

1967 Magic Zephyr, 1968 Carbon Lass, 1969 Zoom Top, 1970 Trev's Button, 1971 Paul's Thunder, 1972 Lizrene,1973 Thurmiss,1974 Alveray,1975 La Sierra, 1976 Chevron Lass, 1977 Oakwood Moss, 1978 Lindsay's Pick, 1979 Mixed Blessings,1980-1984 Not Run, Sheila's Teresa 1985, Suzanne Gwenda, 1986 Linton's Ace, 1987 Golden Ambition, 1988 Strolling Benja, 1989 Julep, 1990 Malmar Magic, 1991 Witchery, 1992 Modern Express, 1993 Brijon Belle, 1994 Athjoy, 1995 Johnny Glenoban,1996 Happy Reuben, 1997 Ringside Fire, 1999 Long Shadow, 2000 Jedi Lightsabre, 2001 Hotshow Vintage, 2002 Westend Prince, 2003 Arvo's Junior, 2004 Classy Customer, 2005 Zarbo, 2006 Mid City Mandy, 2007 Sky Hazzard, 2008 Sky Hazzard and 2009 Amity Bale.

Thanks for information supplied by George Farrugia M.G.R.A Publicity Officer

For more information please contact:

Neil Brown AGRA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234 Mob: 0423 129 950 Brenton Scott AGRA Executive Officer Tel: 02 96497166 Mob: 0438 402 198