

AUSTRALIAN GREYHOUND RAGING ASSOCIATION

MEDIA RELEASE 3rd November 2010

Delbridge's Light too flash in Hume Cup

By George Farrugia

The Mark Delbridge-trained Flash Of Light (\$4.30f) recorded the fourth Group victory of her career with an all-the-way win in the highly anticipated Group 2 City of Hume Cup over 600 metres at The Meadows on Monday night.



Flash Of Light in action winning a one of her four Group races this year (Pic Paul Munt)

Amazingly, it was Flash Of Light's first race win since her Group 2 McKenna Memorial success on July 15, enduring a run of recent unlucky placings. The black chaser saved her return to the winners' circle for the 600-metre final, worth \$30,000 to the winner.

AUSTRALIAN BREYHOUND RABING ASSUBIATION

After jumping cleanly from box seven, the daughter of Premier Fantasy and Trendy La Maze recorded splits of 8.97 and 22.02 before holding off late challenges from swoopers Seek And Destroy and Symmetry, who finished second and third respectively.

The win was icing on an already rich cake for the rising four-year old, with prizemoney levels now at almost \$260,000 thanks to black type wins in the Group 2 Rookie Rebel, Group 2 McKenna Memorial, Group 3 Dawson and Monday night's Group 2 City of Hume win, capping off a fantastic 2010.

Flash Of Light improved her record to 33 wins and 17 placings from 76 starts, including four wins and three seconds from just eight starts over the 600-metre journey at The Meadows.

After the placings the field finished in the following order 4th Allen Zander (\$8.00), 5th Sandhog (\$19.80), 6th Decembrist (\$8.30) 7th Philby (\$9.30) and Cool Wabbit (\$7.10).

Flash Of Light is Black bitch whelped December '06 she is raced by the Auscot Syndicate and is trained by Mark Delbridge at Balliang. Flash Of Light is by Premier Fantasy from Trendy La Maze (Trendy Leigh x Penny La Maze). The Group 2 Hume Cup win took her record to 75 starts for 33 wins and 17 placings and prizemoney earnings of \$261,445.

The Hume Cup was initially called the Lord's Mayors Cup and was first run over 675 yards at North Melbourne in 1960, it moved with the club to Olympic Park and in 1964 became the Lord Mayors Trophy and remained a sprint race until 1988. It then became a distance event until 1994 when it was discontinued. The MGRA due to the tremendous support they are given by the Hume City Council resurrected the feature in 2000 calling the race the Hume Cup. In another change to the event this year it was conducted over 600 metres for the first time and that will remain the distance in the foreseeable future. Listed below are the past winners.

1960 Fair's Orders, 1961 Rustling Breeze, 1962 Tree Lover, 1963 Diropace, 1964 Rocket Streak, 1965 Cheltenham Lass, 1966 Munich Boy,1967 Bold Charmer, 1968 Fawn Waters, 1969 Dashing Phantom, 1970 Mayo Gold, 1971 Banca, 1972 Flying Stage, 1973 Half Your Luck, 1974 Temlee, 1975 Plain Winnie, 1976 Matireka, 1977 Shelley O'Reilly, 1978 Manteca Boy, 1979 Shane's Level, 1980 Vibrant King, 1981 Striding Ahead, 1982 Durante Lad, 1983 Castle Ridge, 1984 National Poppy, 1985 Rumpus Pappa, 1986 I'm Nugget, 1987 Swift Laser, 1988 Regal Kid, 1989 Blue Speed, 1990 Interest Only, 1991 Modern Express, 1992 Modern Express, 1993 Saltwater Sid, 2000 Mr. Boswell, 2001 Bentley Babe,2002 Tears Of Jupiter, 2003 Oh Behave and 2004 Triple Trio 2005 Jacarrest, 2006 Sargent Major, 2007 Technoman, 2008 Fallen Zorro and 2009 Amity Bale.

For more information please contact:

Neil Brown AGRA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234 Mob: 0423 129 950

nbrown@agra.com.au

Brenton Scott AGRA Executive Officer Tel: 02 96497166

Mob: 0438 402 198 bscott@agra.com.au